We are God’s Children


images

“Happiness is a butterfly, which, when pursued, is always just beyond your grasp, but which, if you will sit down quietly, may alight upon you.”

Nathaniel Hawthorne

Why is there so much suffering in our world? So much pain? We may never know the answer to this question. We may rationalize it but what can we say to the young child dying of cancer or the victims of human trafficking or even someone with a plain old broken heart? Does everyone get exactly what they deserve? In this life, probably not. Innocent people suffer everyday and the worst of the worst prosper. Our world just seems backwards.

So what can we say to those people suffering? How can we offer them hope? Only God and our faith in him can give us true hope. He is the only way to receive joy in this life despite circumstances. We have to trust in him and remind EACH OTHER to keep keeping on. God says we are his family and we need to act like it. We are God’s children and because we are family we need to remind each other not only of the blessing of God, but the hope he has offered us.

Jeremiah 29:11 states, “‘For I know the thoughts that I think towards you’, says the Lord, ‘thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.'”

Let’s look to him for answers and stop looking at our circumstances. I am preaching not only to you folks, but also to myself. I’m going through some pretty crazy feelings, doubts, and worries right now and it’s time for me to rest in the Lord.

Earlier today I was reminded of Matthew 6:28-34.

“And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin.  Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

These verses are so beautiful to me and if I ever hear them, I feel a peace inside. If God is going to take care of the lilies and grass each day, will he not care for his children, the heirs to his Kingdom?

On another note, the other day I came across something PERFECT for me. A perfect way in which I can play my little part in making the world “better.” I have always been really taken with writing and especially with writing letters to others. Right now I am “pen-pal” writing my sister and my best friend because I’m in another state. Anyway, what
I came across was a way for me to help others while at the same time doing something I love. This organization has provided me an outlet to the world.

http://www.moreloveletters.com/

Their mission is to spread love around the world one love letter at a time. They inspire others to write anonymous letters and leave them for someone to find, or to send a letter to a particular person in need. I encourage you all to atleast check out the website and if you are interested in letter writing, get involved!

There is also a website in which you can write to prisoners who have been persecuted for their faith in the Lord. This is amazing because these people are from all parts of the world where Christianity is not allowed, and the site allows you to create a message and have it translated. All you have to do is print and mail it. Think about it!

http://www.prisoneralert.com/

Michelle Linda

This entry was posted in Best quotes, Devotionals, Life, Pieces of My Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts.

