Camp Sozo


Hi, everyone. It’s been hard to blog because there has been so much going on here lately. I guess that’s just the life of a writer, though, having to find time between all of life’s demands to sit down.

I wanted to update everyone on a fun adventure I had last week. Friday the 15th I was blessed to take a camping trip with C20, the college group at Meadowbrook Church.
Unforunately, I should’ve taken more pictures, but I was caught up in the moment. Here are the ones I have:

Camp Sozo, Ocala National ForestImage
ImageImage

We had so much fun that night, roasting hotdogs and marshmallows at the fire, and playing games (Charades, Killler, cards, etc.)

Most campers went to bed a decent hour, but I lingered at the campfire until about 2 a.m. (I had already attempted to go to my sleeping bag, but it was ice cold!) After I returned to my sleeping bag for good, the struggle began. I lay there for hours, shaking, unable to sleep. The “bitter cold” was to blame for this. It was probably in the 30’s or so, but I am used to my warm bed and I’ve never dealt well with overly hot or cold weather. I’m sure many would scoff at the idea of 30 degrees being “bitter cold”, because they have such a tough outer-layer, but I consider myself fragile in some aspects.

A few minutes after laying down, I heard a scratching outside the tent. I later discussed it with a friend in the next-door tent, and she heard the same. (We think there was some wild animal nearby.)

Hours later (some campers being awakened by this, although I was still awake) terrifying howls erupted in the distance. I was startled but calmed down after some self-talk. To me it sounded like wolves, but a different tone. Later, the more “educated on nature” campers informed me we had heard coyotes. How exciting! It wasn’t until later that I finally fell asleep (probably for an hour max.) and then it was time to get up and head home.

It was great to have a new experience but I’ve come to decide camping isn’t for me. Is it the fear of wild animals, you ask? No, simply the “bitter cold” and other unpredictable weather conditions that cause sleep deprivation. Maybe I’ll try again when it’s not  winter, although I’m convinced I prefer to sleep indoors. When I was younger I couldn’t fathom the idea of “camping.” I was staying at my Grandmother and Grandfather’s house, and they live on a good amount of property. My dad asked me if I wanted to go camping with him and my brother, and I said “What is camping?” My dad told me it was when people slept outside in what is called a “tent”. I wondered why anyone would want to sleep outside–it was a complete mystery to me. Now, I understand it a little better, but not completely.

Overall, I’m still glad I was able to go on this trip. Camp Sozo is a beautiful sight, and if friends will lend me more pictures, I’ll upload those later for everyone to see.

Michelle Linda

This entry was posted in Life, Small Travels and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts.

